The Parliament

The Parliament of Ansonia consists of three parts : The Monarch (whose role is purely formal), the Senate and the Congress. According to the Constitution, its role is "to legislate, to scrutinize and hold the Executive to account". A Parliament serves for a maximum period of four years but may be dissolved early by a two-thirds vote of the Congress plus a simple majority vote in the Senate, or by the King-in-Council if the premiership is vacant and the House fails to nominate a new Prime Minister within four weeks of the vacancy occurring.

The Monarch

The monarch signs decrees for the election, summoning and dissolution of Parliament, the promulgation of laws, and for various other procedural matters. These are the only public royal decrees which are promulgated without ministerial advice : it is the speakers of the Senate and Congress, or the Council of State, who advise the sovereign.

The monarch attends Parliament to conduct the opening of each session. This occurs annually, but could happen more often if there has been an early Parliamentary election.

A bill which has been passed by both houses only becomes law (a "Parliamentary Act") when it has received the Royal Assent. The Royal Assent takes the form of a Royal Order declaring that the bills named therein should be passed under the Great Seal, and instructing both Speakers to inform their houses that the bills have been approved.

The Senate

The Senate consists of 210 Senators of Parliament (SPs), of whome 180 are elected by Provincial Assemblies and 30 by the Congress. Each of the electing bodies chooses its senators shortly after it itself has been elected, so membership of the Senate changes every time there is a parliamentary or provincial election.

The Senate has the power to initiate legislative proposals ("bills") and propose amendments to Congress bills. Normally, all bills must be passed in identical form by both houses, but the Congress can override a Senate veto with a two-thirds majority.

The Congress

The Congress consists of 580 Congressors of Parliament (CPs) who are elected by direct universal suffrage using the Single Transferable Vote form of proportional representation.

The Congress is the more important house of Parliament. While both houses scrutinize the executive and legislate, only the Congress can nominate a Prime Minister or force him/her to resign with a vote of no confidence, and when legislating the Congress can override the Senate by a two-thirds majority.


Website produced by the Ansonia Ministry of Information, May 317 AP.